Brussels, 15 March 2023

Mr Aleksander Čeferin UEFA President

Dear Mr Čeferin,

We undersigned Members of the European Parliament call on you to ban the Belarusian national football team from the UEFA 2024 Qualifiers and to expel the Belarusian team from I Group and matches that are going to kick-off in the coming weeks.

We believe it is important that UEFA reconsiders its current position on Belarusian football federation. It is clear from an international standpoint that the current measures are inadequate and fail to reflect what the Belarusian authorities are doing in relation to human rights and other UEFA values.

Over 40 000 inhabitants of Belarus have been detained or imprisoned since 2020, among them many football players. Almost 1 500 persons in Belarus have been recognised as political prisoners and are facing sentences of up to 20 years imprisonment. For example, a 48-year-old football coach - Oleg Fomin - spent 2,5 years in Belarusian prison on trumped up charges. These innocent detainees are being exposed to torture and abasement in clear violation of their rights and freedoms. Much of Belarusian society is now living in fear, intimidated and terrorised that even a slight sign of not supporting the Lukashenka regime could result in the loss of their careers or freedom. This includes Belarusian athletes and sportsmen. It is therefore clear for us that the footballers who are still on the Belarusian football team are supporting the Lukashenka regime.

Just few days ago, Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, the leader of the Democratic Forces of Belarus was sentenced in absentia to 15 years in prison. Another exiled opposition leader, Pavel Latushka, who was also tried in absentia, was sentenced by the same court to 18 years in prison. One week earlier, the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Ales Bialiatski was sentenced to 10 years in prison and is currently serving his sentence. Belarus also takes an active part in the Russian war of aggression against Ukraine. Independent observers report missile strikes and attacks on Ukraine by warplanes from Belarusian territory.

How can all these facts be aligned with UEFA values and the UEFA matches which should be emblematic of the peace and cooperation that are embodied in the football family? The very fact of participating in UEFA Championship by the Belarusian national team will be later used by Lukashenka and his propaganda team to prove he is well received in the international community.

This would be an offense to the victims of the Russian aggression in Ukraine and to all the Belarusians who were forced to flee from their homeland as well as those who stayed in Belarus and now must live in fear and terror.

Mr Čeferin, we join the call to UEFA to stand by its commitment to respect human rights! These are not only UEFA values at stake, but also UEFA's reputation and image within democratic societies and international community.

Best regards,

Tomasz Frankowski, EPP, MEP Andrzej Halicki, EPP, MEP Hannes Heide, S&D, MEP Viola Von Cramon-Taubadel, The Greens/EFA, MEP Laurence Farreng, Renew Europe, MEP Sabine Verheyen, EPP, MEP Juozas Olekas, S&D, MEP Petras Auštrevičius, Renew Europe, MEP Tiziana Beghin, NI, MEP Michaela Šojdrová, EPP, MEP Karin Karlsbro, Renew, MEP Maria Walsh, EPP, MEP Jerzy Buzek, EPP, MEP Adam Jarubas, EPP, MEP Bartosz Arłukowicz, EPP, MEP Danuta Hübner, EPP, MEP Bart Groothuis, Renew Europe, MEP Karen Melchior, Renew Europe, MEP Witold Waszczykowski, ECR, MEP Inese Vaidere, EPP, MEP Olivier Chastel, Renew Europe, MEP Andrus Ansip, Renew Europe, MEP Asim Ademov, EPP, MEP David Lega, EPP, MEP Janina Ochojska, EPP, MEP Robert Biedroń, S&D, MEP Anna Zalewska, ECR, MEP Christophe Hansen, EPP, MEP Alexander Yordanov, EPP, MEP Romana Tomc, EPP, MEP Elżbieta Łukacijewska, EPP, MEP Krzysztof Hetman, EPP, MEP Ewa Kopacz, EPP, MEP Vladimír Bilčík, EPP, MEP Marek Belka, S&D, MEP Jan Olbrycht, EPP, MEP Peter Pollák, EPP, MEP Bronis Ropė, Renew Europe, MEP Abir Al-Sahlani, Renew Europe, MEP Liudas Mažylis, EPP, MEP Dominik Tarczyński, ECR, MEP Fabio Massimo Castaldo, NI, MEP Petra Kammerevert, S&D, MEP Thijs Reuten, S&D, MEP Marina Kaljurand, S&D MEP Marie-Pierre Vedrenne, Renew Europe, MEP Aušra Maldeikienė, EPP, MEP Tomáš Zdechovský, EPP, MEP Zbigniew Kuźmiuk, ECR, MEP Andreas Schieder, S&D, MEP Charlie Weimers, ECR, MEP Andrius Kubilius, EPP, MEP

Bogusław Liberadzki, S&D, MEP Matthias Ecke, S&D MEP Niklas Nienaß, The Greens/EFA, MEP Jakop Dalunde, The Greens/EFA, MEP Rasmus Andresen, The Greens/EFA, MEP Yannick Jadot, The Greens/EFA, MEP Johan Nissinen, ECR, MEP Ivan Štefanec, EPP, MEP Tomasz Poręba, ECR, MEP Anna Fotyga, ECR, MEP Andrey Kovatchev, EPP, MEP Dace Melbarde, EPP, MEP Monica Semedo, Renew Europe, MEP Christine Schneider, EPP, MEP Monika Hohlmeier, EPP, MEP Peter Liese, EPP, MEP Karolin Braunsberger-Reinhold, EPP, MEP Michael Gahler, EPP, MEP Axel Voss, EPP, MEP Rasa Juknevičienė, EPP, MEP Jarosław Kalinowski, EPP, MEP Jarosław Duda, EPP, MEP Theresa Bielowski, S&D, MEP Adam Bielan, ECR, MEP Elżbieta Rafalska, ECR, MEP Sandro Gozi, Renew Europe, MEP Ryszard Czarnecki, ECR, MEP Bogdan Rzońca, ECR, MEP Magdalena Adamowicz, EPP, MEP Milan Zver, EPP, MEP Jadwiga Wiśniewska, ECR, MEP Miriam Lexmann, EPP, MEP Irena Joveva, Renew Europe, MEP Francisco Guerreiro, The Greens/EFA, MEP Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, ECR, MEP Łukasz Kohut, S&D, MEP Markéta Gregorová, The Greens/EFA, MEP Malte Gallée, The Greens/EFA, MEP Salima Yenbou, Renew Europe, MEP Urmas Paet, Renew Europe, MEP Michal Šimečka, Renew Europe, MEP Michal Wiezik, Renew Europe, MEP Martin Hojsík, Renew Europe, MEP Katalin Cseh, Renew Europe, MEP Valérie Hayer, Renew Europe, MEP Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, S&D, MEP Vlad Gheorghe, Renew Europe, MEP Ondřej Kovařík, Renew Europe, MEP Marek Balt, S&D, MEP Jiří Pospišil, EPP, MEP Assita Kanko, ECR, MEP Geert Bourgeois, ECR, MEP