18. Oktober 2019

Letter to Federica Mogherini on the situation of lgbti* in Uganda


Dear High Representative Mogherini,

The Ugandan government has recently outlined a plan to reintroduce legislation that would impose the death penalty for homosexuality, the Bill itself is called “Kill the Gays”.

The legislation was abolished five years ago but is due to be reinstated in the upcoming weeks; this cannot be allowed to come into force.

Only last week we advocated against capital punishment on the 17th World Day Against the Death Penalty, about which you spoke on behalf of the European Union, alongside the Council of Europe, to firmly “oppose the death penalty at all times and in all circumstances”.

While we have seen huge progress for acceptance of the LGBTQAI+ community over the past decade we are still a long way from equality. Same-sex sexual activity is a crime in 70 countries, and can result in a death sentence in nine countries.

The European Union and Uganda have strong links, and through the European Development Fund, the EU has committed and invested €578 million between 2014-2020. This has been to encourage and foster sustainable development through improved governance and strengthened economic growth. Only last May, in accordance with Article 8 of the Cotonou Partnership Agreement, Uganda and the European Union reaffirmed their close partnership in a Political Dialogue.

While we need to tackle abject poverty throughout the African continent, not just in Uganda, through further investment and trade, we must also respect and honour Article 2 of the Treaty of the European Union to protect the rule of law and ensure the respect for human rights.

Given the gravity of this matter, an immediate response is essential in order to prevent such persecution through the use of capital punishment.

Julie Ward MEP
Malin Björk MEP
Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield MEP
Lydia Casagrande MEP
Erik Marquardt MEP
Dimitrios Papadimoulis MEP
Grace O’Sullivan MEP Ellie Chowns MEP
Barbara Gibson MEP
Karen Melchior MEP
Silvia Modig MEP
Svenja Hahn MEP
Izaskun Bilbao Barandica MEP
Hilde Vautmans MEP
Nathalie Loiseau MEP
Maria Noichl MEP
Rasmus Andresen MEP
Maria Walsh MEP
Moritz Körner MEP
Martin Hojsik MEP
Maria Walsh MEP
Seb Dance MEP
Jude Kirton-Darling MEP Jackie Jones MEP
Marie Toussaint MEP
Haris Kountouros MEP
Monika Vana MEP
Clare Daly MEP
Jörgen Warborn MEP
Tanja Fajon MEP
Petri Sarvamaa MEP
Vera Tax MEP
Marianne Vind MEP
Martina Anderson MEP
Matt Carthy MEP
Ernest Urtasun MEP
Mónica Silvana González MEP Heidi Hautala MEP
Sérgio Aires MEP
José Gusmão MEP
Sophie in ‚t Veld MEP
Petra De Sutter MEP
Robert Biedroń MEP
Stelios Kouloglou MEP
Fred Matić MEP
Tomas Tobé MEP
Attila ARA-Kovàcs MEP
Arba Kokalari MEP
Radka Maxová MEP
Jan-Christoph Oetjen MEP
Hannes Heide MEP
Theresa Griffin MEP
Karin Karlsbro MEP
Bill Newton-Dunn MEP
Rosa D’Amato MEP
Josianne Cutajar MEP
Irène Tolleret MEP
Jessica Polfjärd MEP
Lukasz Kohut MEP
Antony Hook MEP
Kinda Almaaz MEP
Sándor Rónai MEP
Dr. Milan Brglez MEP
Rory Palmer MEP
Giorgos Georgiou MEP
Manuel Bompard MEP
Tilly Metz MEP
Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana MEP
Elżbieta Łukacijewska MEP
Anne-Sophie Pelletier MEP